The Children Have Spoken: An Eye Opening Story

The Children Have Spoken is written by Rachel Stafford of handsfreemama.com. I came across her website thanks to a facebook friend sharing Rachel’s current post. I have to admit, it was a huge slap in the face. It wasn’t necessarily information that was new to me, but it was something that when you read, you are like…yeah, that’s me…oh God, I have to stop!
I sit here truly wondering if my child thinks the same way the kids in the story think. I know my husband feels this way; he is constantly giving me crap about using my phone excessively. I, however, have not listened, and for some reason it has taken me reading this article as well as Rachel’s life story, her hands free plan and her discovery to realize what I am doing is not productive to my life and my family, as much as I want to think it is.
It is very hard to admit you have a problem, recent weeks of therapy has made that abundantly clear to me. But, here I go…I HAVE A PROBLEM! I am a phone addict. 21st century technology has truly changed our lives, for good, and for bad. This story of children talking about how their parents act and react to them while on their phones woke me up, as well as her writing about her realization moment. It brought a flood of memories back to me. Have I been really doing this to Caedan?
Yeah, I know I have, after all look at how many times Dan comments about your phone usage! While I am being honest, it is not just my phone, it is my laptop, the television, my job, and my extracurricular activities that distract me from life and the ones that I love, which is what Rachel’s true message of hands free living and daily distractions speak to.
I have to say a huge thank you to my facebook friend, Amanda, who posted this article to her timeline, and a huge thank you to Rachel for creating the writings that have made me open my eyes, and a huge thank you to God for allowing this chain of events to happen to wake me up.
Starting tonight, I am going to allow myself half an hour of family time every night for the rest of my life. That may grow to more time as needed, but it will never be less. One of the things I learned in 2011 is life is very short, and you never know when you are going to be hit with devastating news or a loss.
Today I am going to end with a quote I received last year from a fortune cookie that I think is perfect for today’s close: A lifestyle is what you pay for; a life is what pays you.

3 thoughts on “The Children Have Spoken: An Eye Opening Story

  1. I have been brought to tears by your words here tonight. I am quickly reminded of where I once was when I allowed myself the honest answer to how I was “managing” to juggle it all. The good news, my friend, is that you got the hard part over with … you took that deep, hard look and now you have awareness. Awareness is a beautiful thing on this Hands Free journey. It grabs you (even at times you want to remain distracted) and says, “Come on … put the phone down, turn off the computer, you’re missing a moment, a moment that matters.” And once you let go of distraction and grasp that priceless gift, you are suddenly reminded what is truly important.

    Please know that somedays are harder than others — some moments are harder than others, but I have never ONCE regretted pushing distraction aside to connect with my family.

    If you need encouragement, please email me or stop by my blog anytime. I am so grateful for your message today.

  2. I’m so glad I stumbled across that post, because since I read it, it has truly made me cognizant of how addicted I am to my usually pointless distractions (my phone, computer, etc). Like you, my husband is ALWAYS commenting on how my phone is glued to my hand, but I never paid attention to it until I read this post about how it will also affect my child if I continue on this path. I’m saddened that I couldn’t just listen to my husband, because it was his cry for attention, too. I’m trying everyday to get better, and I’m glad that I’m not the only one struggling!

Leave a Reply

